Almond + Blood Orange Spice Cake

by aninalaura

Most of the time our meals are thrown together “I have no idea if this is going to taste good but here eat it anyways” sort of meals. Luckily most of the time they are edible. But when given the time between jobs I nurture my love of food experimentation by throwing things together in a more organized and thoughtful way. Since learning over the past year or so that I do not react well to a lot of high gluten foods I have slowly been working my way into at least some grain free baking experiments.
After making home made almond milk a few days ago I could not of course bring myself to throw away that perfectly usable beautiful fluffy white lovely nutty scented pulp that was left over. After dehydrating it I set out to figure out what to do with it. The pulp itself was already lightly sweetened with a hefty amount of raisins that I allowed to soak in the milk before I blended it together and strained it. (which is now my favorite way to sweeten almond milk. no honey, no sugar. Its divine.)
I had never attempted to make a cake with anything but regular whole wheat flour which fortunately I can indulge in every so often without getting sick…but a gluten free cake just about made my heart flutter.
As usual I completely forgot to write down the ingredients so unfortunately I am guesstimating on this one but if you can narrow it down to guessing what you might need for the size of cake you want I highly suggest you try to because this was one of my favorite creations ever.

fig&farro1Cake
1 1/3 c. Almond flour
1/4+ c. Walnut flour (approximately)
3 eggs
1/4 c. softened butter (unsalted)
1 tbsp Olive Oil
1 1/2 tbsp fresh blood orange juice
orange rind from 1 orange (I used slightly more since I had some leftover from another recipe)
(approximately ) 1 tsp baking soda
1- 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla
(approximately) 5 tbsp dark honey
1 tsp Cardamom
1/4 tsp nutmeg
(approximately) 1-1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Instructions
-Preheat oven to 400
(I believe I had mine set on 425 because it does not get quite as hot as it should so    use an oven thermometer my friends)
-Lightly grease your pan (I used a very small bunt pan found at a thrift shop)
-Mix together butter, olive oil, honey, vanilla, and orange juice.
-Add eggs one at a time and mix (do not over beat once eggs are added)
-Mix dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and add to wet mixture.
-Mix until texture is even and pour into pan
-Bake for about 25-30 min or until center of the cake tests dry with a toothpick.

Glaze

The glaze used no measurements whatsoever because I had no idea how much I would need at that point. I made a simple glaze of milk, honey, blood orange juice, lemon juice, cardamom, and a small amount of powdered sugar to thicken it. I’d say I ended up with about a half cup of glaze and poured it over the cake and let it soak a bit before cutting it. In all honesty I think it would have been perfectly good with just honey sweetened milk poured over it but the glaze did add a little oomph that was wonderful.

Cake is best same day as made but it did keep refrigerated beautifully and dried minimally if it was covered over 48 hrs but I do suggest not letting it sit longer than that.

